Recent News

Institutionalized Tyranny Versus Secession, In Crimea Or In America

What happens when an institution becomes more important than the cause for which the institution was formed? How long should people who believe in the cause remain loyal to such an institution? And at what point does loyalty to such an institution comprise an abandonment of the cause itself?

A Whole Lotta Democratic Corruption Going On (By Mostly Minority Pols)

[VDARE.com Note: Michelle Malkin isn't responsible for the second half of the title above, or our decision to run photographs of all the accused pols. Rather than tell you which of them are minorities, it would be faster to say which are white: Gordon Fox, of Rhode Island, and Keith Farnham of Illinois. (Fox is gay, if that matters.) Also one of the five mayors mentioned in paragraph four is white: Bob Filner of San Diego. To quote  USA Today, "The challenge of dealing with minority officials who run afoul of the law is a pre-eminently Democratic problem..."]

Has Nancy Pelosi seen a newspaper lately? (Pro tip, hon: Like the Obamacare monstrosity, you have to read it to find out what's in it.) I'd love to see her face in the wake of the veritable epidemic of Democratic corruption now sweeping the country. Pelosi's blink count must be off the charts.

I'm going to make it easy on Pelosi and put all of the latest cases in one handy rogue's gallery reference list. But let's not be naive. It's clear to me that the Barack Obama/Eric Holder DOJ is clearing the decks before the midterms. Prediction: The FBI's GOP corruption shoe will drop right before the elections for maximum distraction and damage. For now, let's take stock of the jackassery:

  • imageThe Dirty Democratic Mayors' Club: Charlotte, N.C., Mayor Patrick Cannon, who bragged about partying with the Obamas to help grease the wheels for city projects, was arrested this week on federal corruption and influence-peddling charges. He's accused of accepting gobs of cash payoffs and Las Vegas trips.

The bust follows former New Orleans Mayor Ray Nagin's conviction in January on corruption charges; former Trenton Mayor Tony Mack's February conviction on cash bribes for a downtown parking garage; and former San Diego mayor and serial groper Bob Filner's disgraceful resignation after conviction on sexual harassment-related charges; former Detroit Mayor Kwame Kilpatrick's conviction on extortion, bribery and conspiracy charges; and former Birmingham, Ala., Mayor Larry Langford's corruption and bribery conviction.

  • imageCalifornia state Democratic Sen. Leland Yee, gun grabber by day, alleged arms-trafficking gangsta by night: Yee made a decades-long career out of sanctimoniously demonizing gun owners and railing against the Second Amendment. He was arrested this week on corruption charges after an FBI sting found probable cause to believe Yee had conducted wire fraud and engaged in a conspiracy to deal firearms without a license and illegally import firearms. The Chinatown pol went so far as to discuss "details of the specific types of weapons" with a prospective donor. Yee is currently a candidate for California's secretary of state office.
  • LeAnnaPennsylvania state Democratic Sen. LeAnna Washington, party animal: This week, a judge ruled that the Keystone State could proceed with a trial against Washington, who reportedly forced her legislative staff for eight years to use taxpayer time and money for an annual birthday party whose proceeds were diverted to her campaign account. She is charged with felony theft of services and felony conflict of interest. More than a half-dozen former employees blew the whistle. "I am the f---ing senator," she screamed at one staffer who objected. "I do what the f--- I want, and ain't nobody going to change me."
  • FoxRhode Island state Democratic House

Behind the Russian Rage

California Immigrant Pol Leland Yee, Who Accused Conservationists Of “Xenophobia” For Liking Native Plants, Busted For Corruption

State Sen. Leland Yee, (D-Calif.) shows a bowl of shark fin soup.

State Sen. Leland Yee, (D-Calif.) shows a bowl of shark fin soup during a news conference to oppose a bill to ban the sale of shark fin soup, in San Francisco's Chinatown, February 14, 2011.

Here's some rare amusing news from big blue California. State Senator Leland Yee, an immigrant long a staple in San Francisco’s Chinese diversity racket, has been arrested for corruption and gun trafficking.

Here’s a report of the bust from Wednesday afternoon:

State Sen. Leland Yee was arrested on public corruption charges Wednesday after federal authorities said he solicited money from undercover FBI agents for his current campaign to be secretary of state, promising to use his role in Sacramento to help the moles in return for the cash.

Yee, a Democrat representing San Francisco and a portion of San Mateo County, participated in a discussion with the undercover agents about an illegal gun-trafficking deal at one point, the FBI said.

Yee was one of 26 people arrested after a lengthy racketeering, gun-running and money laundering investigation that also targeted Raymond "Shrimp Boy" Chow, a notorious former San Francisco gangster, officials said.

Yee was charged in U.S. District Court with conspiracy to traffic in firearms without a license and to illegally import firearms, as well as with participating in a scheme to defraud citizens of honest services.

California State Sen. Leland Yee arrested in corruption case, by Henry K. Lee, Carla Marinucci and Marisa Lagos, San Francisco Chronicle, March 26, 2014

Yee’s numerous earlier misadventures have not suggested hard-core crime connections, so his big-time arrest with hundreds of officers was a new side to the Senator. The case looks like it might shine some light on the local Chinese criminal underworld, given that convicted gangster Raymond "Shrimp Boy" Chow—also an immigrant—was pinched in the same raid. [Raymond “Shrimp Boy” Chow Arrest In San Francisco Brings New Spotlight On Notorious Past,  CBS, March 26, 2014]

The criminal complaint [PDF] listed more than two dozen arrested persons, with Yee being one. He was named with two others as being “involved in a conspiracy to traffic firearms.” That charge is particularly interesting since the Democrat Yee has a record of being an energetic gun grabber.

Leland Yee was born in a Guangdong village under Mao in 1948, where his storekeeper father thought it would be wise to leave. Young Leland arrived with the family in San Francisco Chinatown at age three. The Yees spoke a village dialect so he attended a Chinese school to learn Cantonese. "Everything you needed you could get in Chinatown," Yee remembered. "You never had to leave."

 Later, Leland and his mom ventured to downtown San Francisco and shopping at the Emporium department store. “It was like walking into a different country,” he said. “If you didn't know English, they didn't have time for you.”

Note that little Leland had to learn Cantonese before people in Chinatown had time for him. But that doesn’t seem to bother him. [The real Leland Yee, By Tim Redmond, SF Bay Guardian, August 30, 2011]

Yee is not the sharpest knife in the drawer, as shown by

The Fulford File| Is Domino’s Pizza Money Buying Eric Cantor—Or Is He Betraying Party And Country For Free?

For legal reasons, as Craig Ferguson likes to say, I’m not accusing GOP House Majority Leader Eric Cantor (whose obvious weaseling on the Establishment-backed Amnesty/ Immigration Surge has resulted in his being primaried by economics Professor Dave Brat), Mrs. Eric Cantor, or anyone mentioned below of accepting bribes as defined by the US Code, or even honest services fraud.

I am accusing them of treason, but that’s a political statement—justified by the fact that I can show that they’re betraying their country by supporting an actual invasion, of millions of foreigners, and then legalizing them to make them voters.

The influence of donors in American politics is paradoxical—the banking, agribusiness, and tech industries give hundreds of millions of dollars one way or another, and politicians seek them in order to keep their “phony baloney jobs”, but the salary of a Congressman like Eric Cantor is only $193,400.  That’s because he’s Majority Leader—a regular Congressman gets $174,000. And that’s all they’re allowed to keep.

If they spend campaign funds on themselves, they get in trouble. In a typical case (in more ways than one) Congressman Jesse Jackson Jr was sent to jail for spending campaign contributions on a Rolex watch, Martin Luther King and Michael Jackson memorabilia, and a bunch of similar expenses,

Saying he used his campaign fund as “a personal piggy bank,” a federal judge sentenced former Congressman Jesse Jackson Jr. to 2 ½ years in prison for misusing $750,000 in campaign money to fund a lavish lifestyle.

Both Jacksons Going To Prison For Misusing Campaign Funds, CBS Chicago, August 14, 2013  

So you can see that if plutocrats want to reward loyal supporters in Congress, they’re going to have to be subtle. You may remember Hillary Clinton’s sudden, extremely fortunate windfall in cattle futures, a result, apparently, of the Governor of Arkansas’ loyalty to Tyson Foods Inc. interests.

Tyson didn’t actually give Hillary any money, it gave her an opportunity to make money, and seems to have ensured that that opportunity paid off. [Hillary's Bull Market| Was that $100,000 profit from cattle futures a bribe? By Claudia Rosett, Wall Street Journal, October 26, 2000]

That’s why it was fascinating to read recently how much money immigration enthusiast Eric Cantor was receiving (outside of any campaign contributions that he’d have to give back) from fast food giant Domino’s PizzaEric And Diana Cantor

Domino’s has delivered cash, stock, and stock options currently worth more than $3 million to Diana Cantor since October 2005 – all for her part-time work as a director. She has collected or cashed out more than $1.7 million of that money and is sitting on another roughly $1.4 million in Domino’s holdings, as the stock hovers near an all-time high.…

The Cantors, who have been married since 1989, were millionaires before Diana Cantor joined the board of Domino’s, but the company’s success has nonetheless dramatically swelled their wealth. In 2006, her first full year on the board, the Cantors had a net worth of between $1.97 million and $6.51 million, according to calculations by the Center for Responsive Politics.

That means her $3 million in Domino’s compensation has boosted their total net worth by roughly between 50 percent and 150 percent since 2006.

[Domino’s Pizza Delivers Big for Eric Cantor, By Shane Goldmacher, National Journal, June 13, 2013]

Of course, for this to be considered a reward for the Amnesty/ Immigration Surge,

Great News! NJ Immigration Enthusiast Officials Congratulated By President Of Guatemala!

Recently, NBC 10 News Philadelphia ran the usual “Robbery Gone Wrong” story (Teen Beaten to Death While Walking Home With Groceries, by David Chang, February 17, 2014) about a killing in Trenton NJ. The victim was Julio Cesar Cruz, an “immigrant” from Guatemala.  Two black teenagers allegedly beat him to death.  

The original story included the MSM weasel phrase “Police have not yet released a detailed description of the suspects,” which apparently now means that the police told the reporter that all they know was that it was “two black teens”, but the reporter isn’t going to tell you that, because it’s not news and will just give you bad feelings about black teens.

When the perps were caught and charged, the same station did run a picture—but no description, of course:

 

 BLACK Teens Charged in Trenton Beating Death, NBC February 28, 2014

This is a common story in Trenton. Guatemalans, who have recently begun flooding into Trenton, are viewed by the Black underclass as easy marks.  They are small of stature and, being mostly illegals and working for cash, carry a lot of money.   There have been literally hundreds of such robberies. 

But this one triggered something different:

Cruz’s murder galvanized the community as they rallied and coordinated with law enforcement seeking justice. Days after Cruz’s death, a rally of 350 people

The Return Of Ethnic Nationalism— Is Europe Cracking Up?

A week ago, in the St. George's Hall in the Kremlin, Russia's elite cheered and wept as Vladimir Putin announced the re-annexation of Crimea. Seven in 10 Russians approve of Putin's rule.

In Crimea, the Russian majority has not ceased celebrating. The re-conquest nears completion. In Eastern Ukraine, Russians have now begun to agitate for annexation by Moscow.

Ukrainian nationalism, manifest in the anti-Russia coup in Kiev, has produced its inevitable reaction among Russians.

While praising the Ukrainians who came out to Maidan to protest peacefully, Putin said that those behind the decisive events "resorted to terror, murder and riots. Nationalists, neo-Nazis, Russophobes and anti-Semites executed this coup." The Kremlin erupted in cheers.

But not only in Ukraine is ethnic nationalism surging.

"National Front Vote Stuns Hollande" was the headline on the Financial Times' story about France's municipal elections Sunday.

Though the FN of Marine Le Pen, daughter of party founder Jean Marie Le Pen, did not field candidates in many cities, it won the mayoral race outright in Henin-Beaumont and ran first or second in a dozen medium-sized cities, qualifying for run-off elections on March 30.

"The National Front has arrived as a major independent force—a political force both at the national and local levels," declared Le Pen.

No one is arguing the point. Indeed, a measure of panic has set in for the socialist party of Francois Hollande, which is calling on all parties to unite against FN candidates.

In early polling for the May elections for the European Parliament in Strasbourg, the National Front is running close behind the UMP of ex-president Nicolas Sarkozy, and ahead of Hollande's socialists.

Begun as an anti-immigrant, anti-EU Party, the FN has broadened its base to issues like crime and unemployment.

But the most startling news on the nationalist front last week came in Venice and the Veneto region, where 89 percent of a large turnout in a non-binding referendum voted to secede from Italy and re-establish the Venetian republic that vanished in 1866.

Exulted Luca Zaia of the separatist Northern League, "The will for secession is growing

Oregon’s Immigration Patriots Win A Round Against Their State’s “Depraved Political Class”

In late April, 2013, Oregon’s legislature passed senate bill SB833 [PDF], which allows illegal aliens to obtain “driver cards.”  On May Day—no coincidence, according to Jim Ludwick of Oregonians for Immigration Reform [OFIR]—Gov. John Kitzhaber, a Democrat, signed SB 833 into law. 

Driver cards supposedly have the sole purpose of bestowing driving privileges upon those who can pass the usual driving tests but who lack legal presence in the U.S. But it’s all part of the Treason Lobby’s relentless campaign to dismantle US sovereignty—one of the primary documents acceptable as ID for getting an Oregon driver card is the notorious Mexican matricula consular card.

Of course, it’s got some way to go. The Oregon DMV’s FAQs list about SB 833 helpfully points out that “It will be up to each [other] state to determine whether or not to recognize the Oregon Driver Card as valid driving privileges in their state.  Before traveling, you may wish to contact the state in question.” The FAQ list also pleads ignorance about the cards’ possible acceptance for identification by other entities, whether commercial or governmental, even including the TSA—or, as Michelle Malkin calls it, Thousands Standing Around).)

The Driver Cards were to become available on January 1, 2014.  But instantly upon SB 833’s enactment, OFIR’s dedicated activists began the process of qualifying a referendum for the November 4, 2014 general election so that Oregon’s voters would have a chance to nullify what their depraved political class—thank you, Mark Steyn, for that all-occasions description of America’s governing elites— had inflicted upon them. 

In an intense and expensive 90-day effort, the OFIR-ites collected enough valid signatures from registered voters to clear comfortably the 58,142-signature threshold needed to put the referendum on the ballot.  This nullified the January 1, 2014 effective date. A majority of “No” votes on the referendum this November will cancel the law completely.  But if a majority is bamboozled into voting “Yes,” the driving cards will become available after all, on December 4, 2014.

But the Oregon Treason Lobby struck back. By phone, Jim Ludwick told me how, even before really gearing up for its fall “Vote No on SB 833” campaign—OFIR had to fend off machinations by the state’s mendacious “public servants.”  He pointed me to editorials from major newspapers around the state, even some who favor the driver cards for illegal aliens, that share OFIR’s outrage over the legislature’s galling attempt to monkey-wrench the process. 

The Bend Bulletin succinctly described the situation and its implications:

It’s a remarkable scenario of legislative overreach.

• The Legislature passed a bill.

• Seeking to reverse that action, opponents successfully gathered signatures to put the issue on the ballot.

• The attorney general, as provided by law, wrote the ballot title.

• Now the Legislature wants to rewrite the ballot title to obscure its meaning…

The attorney general’s office wrote the ballot title, which

Diversity Is Strength! It’s Also Dr. Mo And The A-MAIZE-ing Chinese Corn Theft Scandal!

On December 12, 2013, six Chinese nationals were indicted in federal court in Iowa, charged with conspiracy to steal seed corn from three American agribusiness giants (DuPont Pioneer, Monsanto and LG Seeds). I first learned of this case from some of my nephews, who had read about it in Farm Journal. It shows that Chinese espionage includes not only military and industrial targets, but agricultural ones as well. It raises grave questions about our legal immigration and naturalization systems.

There is a delicious irony here. Corporate agribusiness has a lot to answer for in the demographic replacement of the American people. The Big Ag lobby has promoted cheap labor and Open Borders, which actually harms traditional American family farms, such as the one I grew up on. But Big Ag lobbyists don’t care. Now, though, our loose immigration and naturalization policies are harming them.

The conspiracy first came to light when a DuPont Pioneer manager, driving through rural Iowa, spied a Chinese man digging in an unmarked test field:

Crouched on his hands and knees under an Iowa sky, Mo Hailong quickly dug in the rows of freshly planted seed corn. Just the day before, May 2, 2011, he and coworker Wang Lei, vice chairman of Kings Nower Seed of China, stopped at this same field near Tama, Iowa. The farmer told them he was planting seed corn.

With each shovel, Hailong found pay dirt: DuPont Pioneer’s latest parent gene­tics, the building blocks for the next generation of high-yielding hybrids. The men hoped these seeds would help their own company keep up with global competition.

Mo’s head snapped up as a truck approached, dust billowing behind. A DuPont Pioneer field manager pulled over and hopped out as Mo rose from his knees. The field manager questioned what Mo was doing, to which he gave a well-rehearsed response, "We’re on our way to a research conference." It’s an answer he had used before, but this time, with dirt under his nails and seeds in his pocket, he knew its effectiveness was compromised. Using the difference in culture and native languages, Mo tried to mask further suspicion. Then, the field manager’s phone rang. As he turned away, Mo hurried to Lei, waiting in the rental car. He jumped in and Lei swung the car around on the narrow dirt road. The field manager looked up from his phone to see the car and two Chinese nationals racing away.

Tech Heist: Seeds of Deceit, By Farm Journal Editors, Farm Journal Ag Web, January 25, 2014

The FBI began an investigation that resulted in the indictment of Dr. Mo and five others.

Corn, also known as maize, scientific designation Zea mays, is used for feeding both humans and livestock. Maize is grown worldwide, but the U.S. produces 40% of it, mostly in the great Corn Belt of the American Midwest, which has been described as “the most productive agricultural civilization the world has ever seen”.

I grew up on an Oklahoma farm where we raised corn. My dad and brother grow it today. In my mind, there’s nothing like corn on the cob!

Zea mays was developed thousands of years ago by Indians in what is now southern Mexico,

Democrat Says Gentrification Won’t Save Detroit—Only Hope Is Tightening Labor Market By Ending “America Last” Immigration Policies

According to How to Fix Detroit in Barron’s Magazine [by Jonathan Lang, March 17, 2014], there is great optimism about the coming recovery of the Motor City. The plan seems to be to bring in skilled workers to gentrify the city and create a stable tax base. The price of this plan: general obligation bond holders will take an 80% (!) haircut and retired workers will endure major cuts to their pensions.

Detroit’s former mayor Kwame Kilpatrick is serving 28 years in prison as a result of multiple corruption charges. But a new breed of Detroit leaders such as CEO of Quicken Loans Dan Gilbert, new mayor Mike Duggan, and state-appointed administrator Kevyn Orr are trying to attract creative entrepreneurs.

Unfortunately, although I am a Democrat, I am more pessimistic. I hear what University of Pennsylvania historian and former Detroit resident Tom Sugrue is quoted as saying:

I question how the influx of 10,000 to 20,000 hipsters, artists, techies and young professionals into downtown and midtown can provide enough trickle-down for blacks, who make up 83% of the city’s population and are desperately poor. No Rust Belt city—not Cleveland, not Pittsburgh—has a black underclass nearly as large or a history of racial conflict as fraught as Detroit’s".

Of course we all hope the revitalization of Detroit will succeed. And perhaps it will. After all, Pittsburgh was able to convert

Oakland’s Gentrification Wars Expose Democratic Coalition’s Contradictions

See also: Funny Thing: Coming Or Going—Gentrifying Or Fleeing—It’s Always Whitey’s Fault! By Nicholas Stix

Gentrification seems to have halted the transformation of Oakland CA into just another Third World disaster like Detroit MI, Baltimore MD, or Camden NJ. But unfortunately for those trying to return a great metropolis to the civilized world, racially-motivated black radicals are doing their best to ensure Oakland remains a dysfunctional Chocolate City.

Oakland was notorious in the late 1960s as the birthplace of the Black Panther Party. After that thinly-disguised criminal gang collapsed, blacks abandoned the pretense of opposition to the system and achieved political power with the election of Lionel J. Wilson, Oakland's first black mayor and close ally of the Panthers. [The Role of the Black Panthers in Oakland Politics, . By J. Douglas Allen-Taylor, Race, Poverty, and the Environment, Spring 2010]

But since then, paradoxically, liberal whites empowered by Google, Facebook, and radical environmentalism have retaken the Bay Area in a campaign of ethnic cleansing far more effective than anything dreamed of by the Klan. [Green Disparate Impact, by Thomas Sowell, Creators Syndicate, January 15, 2008]

And blacks don't like it. They thought Oakland was “theirs” And some of them are throwing a tantrum.

Complicating matters for liberals: the battle over lebensraum in the Bay pits two parts of the Democratic coalition against each other—SWPL liberal urban-dwelling whites, many homosexual, vs. tribalistic blacks defending their turf. (Similarly, California’s Asian Democrats just squelched Hispanic Democrats efforts to reverse 1996’s anti-Affirmative Action Prop. 209).

As an unintentionally hilarious article in the San Jose Mercury News tells it:

Steve Kopff was one of many San Franciscans who cascaded last year into sunnier, cheaper, hipper Oakland.

He bought and began restoring a historic but rundown mansion. He planted vegetables, raised backyard hens and bees, launched a neighborhood newsletter and peppered his Facebook account with paeans to his new city.

But this year, Kopff became a scorned symbol of the angst over Oakland gentrification. He wrote an online essay describing his diverse, working-class neighborhood east of Lake Merritt as "mostly undiscovered" and a "virtual food desert" in need of an organic supermarket, better restaurants and "a coffee kiosk with patisserie bites."

[Scorned Oakland ‘gentrifier’ accepts the label but calls truce, by Matt O’ Brien, February 13, 2014]

Oakland homosexual gentrifier Steve Kopff, with his dog Bacon—The New Face of White Supremacy?


Oakland homosexual gentrifier Steve Kopff, with his dog Bacon—The New Face of White Supremacy?

The entrenched forces of diversity were quick to respond that “patisserie bites” was, in effect, the new code word for white supremacy:

Online critics swiftly labeled him a pushy colonizer

Memo From Middle America: My Time With David Yeagley—Comanche Warrior, American Patriot

See also: David Yeagley, R. I. P.,  and Dr. Yeagley’s last article for VDARE.com: A Comanche On The Fear Of A White Planet 

Memo From Middle America: My Time With David Yeagley—Comanche Warrior, American PatriotIt was my privilege to meet my fellow VDARE.com contributor, Dr. David Yeagley, just a few months before his death. Put in touch by VDARE.com Editor Peter Brimelow, my wife, our two sons and I visited him in his Oklahoma City home the day before Thanksgiving, 2013. We wound up staying five hours, conversing the entire time, with Dr. Yeagley holding forth on various and sundry topics. It was truly enjoyable.

Dr. Yeagley told us about his early life and education, and explained how he had never married because of his health problems. We discussed the then-pending lawsuit against those who had shut down two American Renaissance conferences. (He won it in January).

Much of the discussion centered around Indian-related topics, mostly Comanche but also about Indians in particular and the Indian tribe from my home town. He told us about his ancestor Bad Eagle and the time Bad Eagle and his family spent in Mexico. He talked about his view of the American Indian’s role in the American nation’s history and possibly in the future. We discussed the general admiration and respect for the American Indian in American society.

We discussed the Bible—Dr. Yeagley was a devout Christian, an elder in the Seventh Day Adventist Church. We talked a little about agriculture. Dr. Yeagley said he’d like to visit us and go hunting with the boys. Alas, that was never to be. But the day we visited, he seemed to be feeling good and to be in good spirits.

Born in 1951 in Oklahoma City, David Yeagley was, as he himself described it, a “Breed”, or half-breed, the son of a white father and Comanche mother. He never tried to hide that fact. Among American Indians, and particularly Oklahoma Indians, that’s not uncommon at all. Historically, many prominent Indians have not been full-bloods. But he strongly identified with his Comanche background.

Dr. Yeagley’s accomplishments were many and varied. He was both versatile and prolific. In the educational field, he had several degrees including a Doctorate of Musical Arts  from the University of Arizona.

His was a natural musical talent, both as a musician and a composer. Just recently, he was chosen to write the symphonic score for the recently unearthed Daughter of Dawn, a 1920 silent movie filmed in Oklahoma’s Wichita Mountains with an all-Indian cast.

Yeagley wrote fiction and non-fiction, essays, articles and books. Of course there were the Indian-related topics, the National Question, Oklahoma politics, patriotism, Biblical commentary, his admiration for the Jews and Persians, and warnings of the Islamic Threat. In addition, he posted 153 YouTube videos. You can see him being interviewed, in a History Channel documentary on Comanche Warriors.

I urge readers to consult David Yeagley’s Bad Eagle website here, his FrontPage Mag archive here and here, his VDARE.COM archive here, his musical website here, his Wikibin entry here, his Amazon page here  and his YouTubes here. And here is an archive of articles about Yeagley, including interviews, by Joseph Cotto.

Yeagley was a candidate for tribal chairman of the Comanche tribe in 2012, and he also drafted and proposed a new constitution for the tribe.

One of David Yeagley’s many concerns was the state of American Indian youth, seeking to instill in them a more positive outlook than that provided by the liberal victimization mentality. During our visit, I shared with Dr. Yeagley a story from my Oklahoma community—in my old high school, American Indian students were popular and well-liked, and were good athletes. But one of our school’s graduates went to the University of Oklahoma, where he

John Derbyshire Asks: Endemic Corruption--The Ukraine Is Ex-Soviet, But What Excuse Do Black American Politicians Have?

Reading up on the Ukraine in order to say something about it on Radio Derb, I checked the Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) for 2013 compiled by the  think tank Transparency International.

The CPI ranks 175 nations by how corrupt their public sector is perceived to be. Ukraine came in at 144, tied with Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Iran, Nigeria, and Papua New Guinea.

For countries with European populations, Ukraine is the lowest-ranked—that is, most corrupt. Next lowest is Russia at 127. The lowest-ranked nation that (a) has a European population and (b) is not ex-communist is Greece at 80.

The U.S.A. ranks 19th, although Puerto Rico, listed separately, ranks 33rd.

Why are some countries corrupt and others not? Looking at the map on the Transparency International site, a number of general and approximate rules stand out.

  • For really low corruption, be a European country from west of the Hajnal Line, or a settler nation therefrom.
  • For high corruption, be African, an ex-Spanish colony, ex-Soviet, or South Asian.
  • Unless you’re a Turk or a homeland Arab (Saudi, Omani, U.A.R, Jordan), Islam makes things worse.

There are exceptions all over, of course: Botswana ranks better than Italy; North Korea ties with Somalia; Uruguay (heh) ties with the U.S.A.

Furthermore, that map is of today. Some of those virtuous north-European countries could, in the past, have shown Somalis and Afghans a thing or two about corruption.

Here, for example, is historian E. Royston Pike on Sir Robert Walpole, Britain’s first Prime Minister:

But, it will be asked, did not Walpole practice corruption on a very large, even an unprecedented scale? Yes he did: no doubt about it … But his contemporaries thought nothing of [his misdeeds], or not very much. Almost the only people who complained were those who felt that their services had not been well enough rewarded.[ Britain's Prime Ministers from Walpole to Wilson p. 23]

Similar things could of course be said of the 19th-century U.S.A.  One of the greatest achievements of 20th-century civilization in First World nations was the near-total banishing of corruption from public life.

So far as the U.S.A. is concerned, my guess is that this high level of political virtue peaked, like so many other good things, in the two or three decades after WW2 and has been gradually declining since.

If that’s right, no doubt the causes are manifold, but it’s hard not to think that grievance culture, increasing racial diversity, and enforced looking-the-other-way at minority misbehavior have been factors.

Critics of my infamous 2012 TakiMag column The Talk: Nonblack Version took particular umbrage at the following two advice points:

(10f) Do not settle in a district or municipality run by black politicians.

(10g) Before voting for a black politician, scrutinize his/her character much more carefully than you would a white.

Those followed an earlier observation that the higher levels of antisocial behavior among blacks are manifested, among other places, in political corruption. [Racial disparity: All active ethics probes focus on black lawmakers, by John Bresnahan, Politico, November 3, 2009.] All three points were inspired by years of reading about local corruption scandals in the New York Post.

To see how things have been going since I wrote “The Talk,” I have just read back through the last 23 daily issues of the Post tallying all local corruption stories. Bear in mind that the NYP mainly covers New York City, which is 28 percent Hispanic, 33 percent white, 23 percent black, and the rest mostly Asian.

Here are all the corruption stories from the past 23 days (February 25th to March 19th).

  • Wendell Walters. This former Assistant Commissioner of the city housing department was arrested in 2011 for corruption. He admits to taking $2.5 million in bribes from developers and contractors. [Ex-NYC housing honcho: I raked in $2.5M in bribes, By Selim Algar, March 17, 2014]
  • Eric Adams. The Brooklyn Borough President and former state senator is being investigated “following complaints that he and his staff hit up local business and

Thoughts After St. Patrick’s Day: How Irish Immigration Became Idealized

His —probably mythical—slogan: "Americay for Americans, Begorrah!"It was bittersweet for me to read James Fulford’s St. Patrick’s Day tribute to Dennis Kearney (pictured right) the 19th century Irish-born labor leader who fought for the American working man against imported Chinese cheap labor.   The issue has long interested me (see my Forgotten Victims—American Workers Immiserated By Chinese Immigration In Nineteenth Century California). But at the same time, I have to recognize that my own Irish immigrant ancestors also had an immiserating effect in their day.

As a child, I thought that my Irish immigrant ancestors were wonderfully good, literally kind of magic! Mother indoctrinated me, saying, “Kathy, there are only two kinds of people in the world, those that are Irish, and those that wish they were.” I was honestly excited to cover my school uniform with green, and some of this feeling lasted until I was a journalism student at Michigan State University.

There, I met, for the first time in my life, a person who was actually born in Ireland. I’m rather embarrassed to reveal that I felt a flood of joyous emotion as I interviewed the slight, red-haired man for my school newspaper. Apparently, I was expecting some kind of Irish mystical experience from this direct human contact from the Old Sod. (Though he was rather touched by this happy reunion of Irish blood, no magic took place.)

Well, all I really knew about the Irish then was what my mother told me!!

 Mom had three grandparents born in Ireland. But by my birth, in 1951, there were virtually no immigrants in the provincial, medium- sized Midwest city I grew up in. The only negative thing I ever heard about the Irish in my entire youth was a brief mention about discrimination against Irish immigrants in my Catholic school textbook. My Mom explained that this was just cruel prejudice against the Irish, and I agreed.

Then, in 2013, as I was writing an article about immigration for VDARE, some of these childhood beliefs about my Irish immigrant relatives really started echoing in my mind. I came across things like this line in the book “Immigration and American Unionism,” by Vernon Briggs:

…The majority of American families in 1920 lived in poverty, and many more just barely above its threshold. Most urban workers lived in crowded urban slums that lacked adequate sanitation and minimal public health services; disease spread easily, fires were frequent and general lawlessness prevailed.

The history began to sound too much like today, when “experts” keep swearing that we need more noble immigrants to join the army of unemployed American citizens.

New York City, the historic immigration destination, did not even have most homes connected to the city sewer system. Most residents relied on disgusting outhouses, or even just dug trenches behind

Revolt Against the Testing Tyrants